Un Nouveau Départ

begin-end

 

Not getting the best grades in my A-Levels and choosing not to go to university is what initially sparked my want to start a written blog. All of my closest friends were getting excited to go to their chosen university and were investing a lot of their time sorting out which duvet covers they wanted for their new dorm bed or how many strings of fairy lights that they would need to cover their entire room whilst I was wondering what the hell had just happened, how it could of happened and wtf did this mean for my future career now?! I was convinced for weeks my life was over and I may as well hibernate for the rest of eternity.

82dd98cbe0a86ea72b8ef8880a23b698
This is how i sat for weeks, eating myself to death…

This left me feeling incredibly lost because for the first time in 4 years there was 0 pressure on me to complete anything and I no longer had any deadlines to meet; heck, if I wanted to I could stay in bed for days on end and no one would be calling home to check why I wasn’t in that day. Although, this could potentially sound like bliss after being in school for the past 13, 14 years I craved something to focus on. So I made this blog as a way to connect with loads of other people who have similar interests to me and also so I had something to concentrate on and put my spare time in to whilst I found a job.

2 months on from receiving my A-Level results (and after I stopped feeling sorry for myself) I managed to find myself a little job working in a solicitors as a receptionist and office junior. This job offered me everything I was looking for; somewhere I could build my confidence, meet new people and potentially could be somewhere I progress my working career (and of course, earn a bit of money!).I love my job and I’ve really settled in and become content in the role. But that was always going to be it, I was just content. Don’t get me wrong, I was incredibly grateful for my job but I knew I wanted something that would push me a little bit more and make me work my butt off like I had done in college, so when the chance came round to work in the matrimonial department as an assistant of course I jumped at it! Thankfully the lady who was head of the department started in the same was as I had; as an office junior. All of the other applicants for the job were far more experienced in the role but I think the legal executive saw herself in me and decided to give me a chance like she had been given when she was just an office junior. I start my new job next Monday and I couldn’t be happier or feel any luckier. 6 months ago I felt completely lost and like a disappointment to my family and college and now I can’t imagine being in uni doing the course I originally applied for. I still may go to uni or even back to college to further my qualifications and work up to being a legal executive but these short 6 months have opened my eyes a lot to the ‘real life’ outside of school and college.

Of course, everyone’s experience is different but I feel the path I am on is the right one for me at this point in my life and I just wanted to share my thoughts and journey so far, if you can even call 6 months a journey, as I am aware that exams for the current year 11s and sixth formers are fast approaching. Please don’t be afraid because whatever happens in life, however s****y it feels at the time, it is what is meant to be for you.

Thank you for reading and following my little journey whilst I am feeling inspired, hopefully my next post will be less preachy and more to do with makeup again but until then…

nat-xo

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

